Home is where the art is

11 Aug

Typical Saturday morning in Victoria today – kids spilling into ovals that have large patches of mud waiting to be discovered amongst the green grass. The kids are decked in their tribal colours – AFL teams of every designation, even interstaters. Aussie Rules Football is a state institution here – it has followers most religions would love to recruit – loyal, passionate and full of zealous pride. My Alex loves the thought of football, the enticement of Auskick, the feeling of community. When it comes to actually playing the game, he would prefer to look up at the sky rather than the ball and when it comes near him, he does have a tendancy to sit down. It doesn’t matter though – odds are that he will sign up for Auskick again next year, even if we tell him we don’t mind our Saturday mornings being free again. I went along this week and bought my camera as it is the final week of the season. As I was snapping away, I wondered why it was that more often than not I am not taking photos of my country, but rather its people. I love Melbourne – every time I come home from a trip, I see it with fresh eyes, and I see how brilliant it is. So I have decided that I will try, a couple of times a month, to post photos from Australia…

Sun setting on St Kilda Beach

Walking on the boardwalk

Small St Kilda Pier

St Kilda Beach

View over Flinders St

Ferris wheel on yarra

On Bridge looking out on to the MCG

Sphere at Fed Square

2 Responses to “Home is where the art is”

  1. Liz Casey August 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Oh Susan, I love how you capture Melboure & your family, so beautifully. I look forward to your once a month Melbourne photos – will be like a little fix from home for me!

    • susanandcharliegirl August 20, 2012 at 4:57 am #

      I often think of you when I am taking them, so I am so glad that you are enjoying them. Next time you are in Melbourne, you need to set one whole day aside and we can go explore and take photos together.
      Sx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

